Deer Permits and Tags

All resident hunters age 16 through 74 must have a resident hunting license unless exempt by Kansas Law.

Nonresident hunters, regardless of age, must have a nonresident hunting license.

All annual hunting licenses can be purchased online by clicking here or through all licensed agents, or Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and
Tourism offices.

2013 Deer and Fall Turkey Regulations

Schedules A, B, and C list all deer permits available. To Determine which permits you are eligible to obtain, click here for the online deer permit guide.

NEW FOR 2014:

New reduced Fees for youth deer, turkey and antelope permits, (for hunters age 15 and younger). 

No Whitetail Antlerless permits will be valid in Unit 18.

2014 Deer Season Dates:

Youth and Disability Season: Sept. 6 - Sept. 14, 2014

Early Muzzleloader Season: Sept. 15 - Sept. 28, 2014

Archery Season: Sept. 15 - Dec. 31, 2014

Pre-Rut Firearm Whitetail Antlerless Season: Oct. 11- Oct. 12, 2014. Any permit that allows the harvest of a whitetailed antlerless deer is valid during this season. Equipment and unit restrictions on permit imposed. Hunter orange clothing is required.

Firearms Season: Dec. 3 - Dec. 14, 2014

 Firearms Extended Whitetail Antlerless-Only Deer Seasons:

  1. Jan. 1 - 4, 2015  Units 6, 9, 10 and 17: 
  2. Jan. 1 - 11 2015   Units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 16
  3. Jan. 1 - 18, 2015  Units 10A, 15, and 19

No Whitetail Antlerless permits will be valid in Unit 18.

 

Archery Whitetail Antlerless-Only Deer Season:

  1. Jan. 19 - 31, 2015  DMU 19 ONLY

Number of Whitetail Antlerless-Only (WAO) Permits a hunter may purchase is 5 but they may use them as follows:

  1. A maximum of 2 WAO permits within Units 6, 9, 10, 14, and 17
  2. A maximum of 5 WAO permits within Units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19
  3. No WAO permits within Unit 18
  4. Only 1 WAO permit may be used on public hunting wildlife areas except for Cedar Bluff, Glen Elder, Kanapolis, Kirwin NWR, Lovewell, Norton, Webster and Wilson Wildlife Areas where 5 WAO permits may be used.  

 

 

Schedule A -- Choices for General Resident Deer Permits:
By Drawing only: 2014 Resident Either-species/Either-sex Firearms Deer Permit Application Deadline:   July 11, 2014

There will be no paper applications or mail in forms for 2014. All draw applications will need to be submitted thru the online application process.

Applicants must apply online from June 11 thru July 11, 2014 or apply by phone 620-672-0728.

All fees listed below will have an internet convenience fee added at time of applying online for a permit or preference point.

Resident Firearm Either-species/Either-sex Firearms Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn) $37.50 for general residents; $22.50 for landowner/tenant/manager; $17.50 for youth 15 and younger. Firearms Either-species/Either-sex Firearms Deer Permits are valid either in the east unit (3, 4, 5, 7, 16) or the west unit (1, 2, 17, 18) during the regular firearms season using any legal equipment.

Preference Point -- $6.50. A resident hunter who does not want to hunt in the current year season can purchase a preference point that will count toward a firearm either species, either sex deer permit in a future drawing.

 For purchase over-the-counter or online for 2014 season:

Resident Any-Season White-tailed Deer permit (white-tailed deer buck, doe or fawn) – $32.50 for general residents; $17.50 for landowner/tenants; $12.50 for youth 15 and younger. Resident Any-season White-tailed Deer permits are valid statewide in any season, provided legal equipment is used for that season. Available Aug. 1 - Dec. 30

Resident Archery Either-species/Either-sex Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn) – $32.50 for general residents; $17.50 for landowner/tenants; $12.50 for youth 15 and younger. Resident Archery Either-species/Either-sex Deer permits are valid statewide with archery equipment only during archery season. Available Aug. 1 - Dec. 30

Resident Muzzleloader Either-species/Either-sex Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn) – $32.50 for general residents; $17.50 for landowner/tenants; $12.50 for youth 15 and younger. Resident Muzzleloader Either-species/Either-sex Deer permits are valid either in the east unit (3, 4, 5, 7, 16) or the west unit (1, 2, 17, 18) during the early muzzleloader season and the regular firearm season using muzzleloading equipment only. Available Aug. 1 - Dec. 30

Hunt-Own-Land Deer Permit — $17.50 resident landowner, $17.50 all tenants. Available to individuals who qualify as residents landowners, including family members living with the landowner or tenant. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by landowner or tenant during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Available Aug. 1 - Dec. 30

Hunter must first have a resident deer permit that allows the taking of an antlered deer, unless purchased after Dec. 30:

Resident Antlerless White-tailed Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler) $17.50 for general residents, $10.00 for resident youth (15 and younger).  White-tailed Antlerless Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull)

Number of Whitetail Antlerless-Only (WAO) Permits a hunter may purchase is 5 but they may use them as follows:

  1. A maximum of 2 WAO permits within DMUs 6, 9, 10, 14, and 17
  2. A maximum of 5 WAO permits within DMUs 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19
  3. No WAO permits within DMU 18
  4. Only 1 WAO permit may be used on public hunting wildlife areas except for Cedar Bluff, Glen Elder, Kanapolis, Kirwin NWR, Lovewell, Norton, Webster and Wilson Wildlife Areas where 5 WAO permits may be used.  

Resident Antlerless Either-species Deer permit (any white-tailed or mule deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull) $17.50 for general residents, $10.00 for resident youth (15 and younger).    LIMITED QUOTA

Schedule B -- Choices for Nonresident Deer Permits:
 By drawing only: 2014 Nonresident DEER Permit Application Deadline: April 25, 2014

There will be no paper applications or mail in forms for 2014. All applications will need to be submitted thru the online application process.

Applicants must apply online from April 1 thru April 25, 2014 or apply by phone 620-672-0728.
 
NEW YOUTH FEE FOR 2014: 

Nonresident Youth White-tailed Deer Permit Fee:  $116.34  (youth 15 and younger)

Nonresident White-tailed Deer Permit Fee : $346.96  (16 and older)      

Bag Limit: (1) white-tailed deer - buck, doe or fawn AND (1) white-tailed antlerless deer

Hunter applies in one unit and selects one adjacent unit in which to also hunt, as well as the season choice (archery, muzzleloader, or firearm) at the time of application.  Muzzleloader permit holders may hunt during early muzzleloader season and regular firearm season using muzzleloader equipment only.

Group Hunt: The group hunt application is to accommodate those who do not want to hunt unless their hunting partners draw also. Applicants (up to 5) must apply for the same unit and the same weapon choice.  Each person will make application and there will be a question on the application about groups.  The first applicant in the group to apply would choose the create group option on this question.   This will create a group under this applicants KDWPT #.  Each applicant applying after the group has been set up would choose the join group option and they would be asked to fill in the Group Leaders KDWPT # at that time.                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Mule Deer Stamp Fee: $102.50 (plus Nonresident White-tailed deer permit fee listed above)

A nonresident must apply for the Mule Deer Stamp during the April application period. A nonresident who successfully draws an archery or muzzleloader White-tailed Deer Permit among units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 16, 17, or 18 and has applied for the Mule Deer Stamp will be entered into a draw for one of a limited number of Mule Deer Stamps. If drawn, the applicant’s White-tailed Deer Archery or Muzzleloader Permit converts to an Either-species/Either-sex Archery or Muzzleloader Permit. Preference points do not count toward this Mule Deer Stamp draw. If unsuccessful in the Mule Deer Stamp Draw, hunter will receive a $101 refund and be issued the White-tailed Deer Archery or Muzzleloader Draw Permit.

  • Preference Point -- $23.06. A nonresident hunter who doesn’t want to hunt in the current season can purchase a preference point that will count toward a white-tailed deer permit in a future drawing.

If unsuccessful in the draw, hunter receives a $316 refund and a preference point for next year’s draw.

If successful in the draw, you will also need to purchase a nonresident hunting license.

 
For purchase over-the-counter and online:
  • Nonresident Hunt-Own-Land Deer Permit (available over the counter and online) $77.50 – Available to nonresident individuals who qualify as Kansas landowners. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by the nonresident landowner, during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Available online and over the counter.
  • Special Hunt-Own-Land Relative Deer Permit (available over the counter and online) $32.50 – Available to individuals who qualify as lineal ascendants or descendants or siblings of resident landowners or all tenants, and spouses of a qualifying landowner. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by landowner or tenant during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Lineal relatives include direct ascendants or descendants such as a grandfather, mother, son, or granddaughter. Cousins, uncles, or nieces are NOT lineal family members. You would also need to purchase an annual hunting license. Available online and over the counter.
Hunter must first have a nonresident deer permit that allows the taking of an antlered deer, unless purchased after Dec. 30:
  • Nonresident Antlerless White-tailed Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler) – $52.50 for nonresidents. White-tailed Antlerless Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull)

Number of Whitetail Antlerless-Only (WAO) Permits a hunter may purchase is 5 but they may use them as follows:

  1. A maximum of 2 WAO permits within DMUs 6, 9, 10, 14, and 17
  2. A maximum of 5 WAO permits within DMUs 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19
  3. No WAO permits within DMU 18
  4. Only 1 WAO permit may be used on public hunting wildlife areas except for Cedar Bluff, Glen Elder, Kanapolis, Kirwin NWR, Lovewell, Norton, Webster and Wilson Wildlife Areas where 5 WAO permits may be used.  
  • Nonresident Antlerless Either-species Deer permit (any white-tailed or mule deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull)                   $52.50 for nonresidents.  LIMITED QUOTA
Schedule C -- Choices for Nonresident Tenant Deer Permits:
  • Tenant Hunt-Own-Land Deer Permit (available over the counter) $17.50 all tenants – Available to individuals who qualify as a tenant, including family members living with the landowner or tenant. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by landowner or tenant during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Available online and over the counter.

Hunter must first have a tenant deer permit that allows the taking of an antlered deer, unless purchased after Dec. 30:

  • Nonresident Antlerless White-tailed Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler) – $52.50 for nonresidents.                              

 

Number of Whitetail Antlerless-Only (WAO) Permits a hunter may purchase is 5 but they may use them as follows:

    1. A maximum of 2 WAO permits within DMUs 6, 9, 10, 14, and 17
    2. A maximum of 5 WAO permits within DMUs 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19
    3. No WAO permits within DMU 18
    4. Only 1 WAO permit may be used on public hunting wildlife areas except for Cedar Bluff, Glen Elder, Kanapolis, Kirwin NWR, Lovewell, Norton, Webster and Wilson Wildlife Areas where 5 WAO permits may be used.  

                                                                                                                                                                                             

  • Nonresident Antlerless Either-species Deer permit (any white-tailed or mule deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull)                   $52.50 for nonresidents.  LIMITED QUOTA

 

  • Click here to proceed to the Deer Permit Questionnaire.