KDWPT / Services / Education / Hunter / Internet-assisted Course



Internet-assisted Course

Protecting our hunting heritage through safe, knowledgeable and responsible hunters.

The Internet-assisted Course format is designed to meet the needs of those individuals with conflicting schedules. The program is designed to cover the information you need to know before going hunting – the same information delivered in the traditional classroom format. Like the traditional course, there is no required fee to take the online course.

You must have access to a computer AND a printer in order to complete the online portion of an Internet-Assisted course. DO NOT REGISTER FOR AN INTERNET-ASSISTED COURSE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE ACCESS TO A COMPUTER AND A PRINTER!

This independent study method, a three-part process, requires pre-registration in an Internet-assisted Field Day and Testing Session, completion of the Kansas online hunter education course AND active participation in a Internet-assisted Hunter Education Field Day and Testing Session.

DO NOT TAKE THE ONLINE COURSE UNTIL YOU HAVE PRE-REGISTERED FOR THE INTERNET-ASSISTED HUNTER EDUCATION FIELD DAY AND TESTING SESSION OF YOUR CHOICE. Click here for a current schedule of all courses being offered throughout the state.

Part 1: Register for an Internet-Assisted Hunter Education Field Day and Testing Session.
Part 2: Complete the Kansas online hunter education course.

Within 90 days prior to the Internet-assisted Hunter Education Field Day and Testing Session you have chosen you must complete the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism (KDWPT) free course at www.kdwpt.state.ks.us or click on the Kansas Hunter Education logo below.

FREE COURSE>

Once on KDWPT's Online Hunter Education Certification Course home page, you will read the directions and then click, 'Begin Online Course'. You will be asked to log in or create an account. This allows the system keep track of where you are at in the course. This way if you need to stop in the middle you can come back and begin where you left off. If you are a parent, the system allows you to create an account for yourself, but gives you the opportunity to have separate course profiles for each participant. This way you do not have to create separate accounts for your children. The course is important because you will see the same material it covers on the pretest you will need to take and pass in order to get into the field day and testing session. Once complete you will be presented with a Field Day Qualifier Exam Certificate, print this and turn it in to your field day instructor.

Part 3: Attend the selected Internet-assisted Hunter Education Field Day and Testing Session.

To complete the course you must attend an Internet-assisted Hunter Education Field Day and Testing Session. Upon arrival at the selected Internet-assisted Hunter Education Field Day and Testing Session you must hand in their Field Day Qualifier Exam Certificate to prove they have completed the Kansas online assisted course. NOTE: In order to receive four hours (of the 10 hour minimum required by law) all students will be tested over the online course material. The test will be administered at the beginning of the Internet-assisted Hunter Education Field Day and Testing Session. A passing score of 22 correct answers, out of a possible 25 questions, is required to proceed with the remainder of the course. Students failing to achieve the minimum passing score of 22 will be dismissed from the class.

Attending the last day of a 10 hour traditional instructor-led course does not qualify as an Internet-assisted Hunter Education Field Day and Testing Session.