KDWPT / KDWPT Info / News / News Archive / 2011 Weekly News / 6-30-11 / FLOATLINE FISHING SEASON BEGINS JULY 15

Left menu

KDWPT Info Menu



FLOATLINE FISHING SEASON BEGINS JULY 15

Equipment allowed in eight reservoirs; special permit required

PRATT — Now in the last of a three-year pilot program, the Kansas floatline fishing season begins July 15 and runs through Sept. 15. The season is open at eight Kansas reservoirs: Hillsdale, Council Grove, Tuttle Creek, Kanopolis, John Redmond, Toronto, Wilson, and Pomona. During this time, anglers will be allowed to use floatlines from sunrise to sunset only.

Floatline fishing, sometimes called “jug fishing,” allows Kansas anglers to use no more than eight free floating floatlines with no more than two hooks attached to each line. A floatline permit (available for $2.50) is required, enabling Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism (KDWPT) staff to survey floatline anglers to monitor participation. A valid Kansas fishing license is also required, unless exempt by law. During this season, anglers are allowed to use eight floatlines or eight setlines, but not both. In addition to floatlines, an angler may fish with two poles, or three poles if a $6.50 three-pole permit is purchased.

All floatlines must be under immediate supervision of the angler and must be removed from the water when fishing ceases. As with setlines, floatlines must be tagged with the owner's name and address. Materials used for floats are restricted to “closed cell” devices made of solid plastic, wood, or foam; metal, glass or any other hollow material is not allowed. Closed-cell floats are required because they do not hold water and are less likely to spread zebra mussels or other aquatic nuisance species.

At the end of this year’s season, participation and results of the floatline fishing season will be evaluated, and KDWPT staff will make recommendations to the Commission on whether to continue the program as is, expand it, or revoke it.

For more information, consult the 2011 Kansas Fishing Regulations Summary, available where licenses are sold or online at www.kdwpt.state.ks.us.

-30-