BROWN TROUT STATE RECORD SET TWICE THIS YEAR
Kanopolis Seep Stream yields two big brownies
PRATT — A new state record brown trout was caught on Jan. 15 by Arlyn Lindquist, Windom. Fishing with a Kastmaster spoon in Kanopolis Seep Stream below Kanopolis Reservoir, Lindquist landed the 2.32-pound, 17.5-inch beauty about 1 p.m. The fish was identified by Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks (KDWP) fisheries biologist Tommie Berger, and Lindquist had it weighed on official scales at Piper's Fine Foods in Marquette. He then submitted the catch to KDWP. After the required 30-day waiting period, Lindquist's record was certified. But it wouldn't stand long.
Two months later at almost the same time of day —March 18 at 1:32 p.m. — Daniel Schrag, McPherson, was trying his luck in the same waters with an Acme Kastmaster when he hooked a big fish. This catch was also a brown trout, even bigger than Linquist's. After official identification and weighing, Schrag's brownie tipped the scales at 4.18 pounds and measured 20.25 inches in length. After Schrag's 30-day waiting period, Kansans had set two state records for the species within two months.
From Oct. 15-April 15, some Kansas waters stocked with trout require a trout permit ($12.50) whether the angler is fishing for trout or not, and others require a trout permit only for anglers fishing for trout. In addition, all residents 16 through 64 years old and nonresidents 16 and older must have a valid fishing license. The permit is valid for the current calendar year. More information about trout fishing and trout stocking in Kansas may be found on the KDWP website, www.kdwp.state.ks.us.
State record fish are listed in the Kansas Fishing Regulations Summary, available wherever licenses are sold, and on the KDWP website. If you think you have caught a state record, take the fish to a grocery store or other business with certified scales as soon as possible. Do not freeze the fish before it is weighed. The weighing must be witnessed, and the species must be confirmed by a KDWP fisheries biologist or a Wildlife and Fisheries Division regional supervisor. (A tissue sample may be required.) A color photograph of the fish must accompany the application. All applications for state records require a 30-day waiting period before certification.
For more information on Kansas state record fish and KDWP's Master Angler Program, pick up a copy of the Fishing Regulations Summary today.