KDWPT / KDWPT Info / News / News Archive / 2009 Weekly News Archive / 9/10/09 / YOUTH/DISABLED DEER SEASON SEPT. 12-20



YOUTH/DISABLED DEER SEASON SEPT. 12-20

youth deer

KDWP urges parents, mentors to take a kid hunting during this special season
PRATT — The Kansas youth/disabled deer season runs Sept. 12-20 this year, and the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks (KDWP) urges parents and mentors to help youngsters and the disabled take advantage this time when hunting pressure is low and the chances for success are high. Hunters 16 and younger and those with disability permits are eligible. Hunters must have a valid deer permit —resident or nonresident — and hunters who are 16 must have a Kansas hunting license, unless exempt by law. Nonresident hunters younger than 16 must also have a junior nonresident hunting license, $37.50.

Resident hunters who have yet to obtain an Any-Season White-tailed Deer permit may still obtain one at Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks (KDWP) offices, select license vendors, or online at www.kdwp.state.ks.us. Click "License/Permits" in the upper right-hand corner of the page.

Nonresidents who missed the May application period may still purchase a leftover Nonresident Firearm White-tailed Deer permit for units 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14, on a first-come, first-served basis. Nonresident leftover permits are available online only.

Resident hunting licenses, required of anyone age 16 through 64, cost $20.50. Deer permits for resident youth 15 and younger are half price. Youth Resident Any-Season White-tailed Deer permits cost $17.50. Resident youth Antlerless-Only White-tailed Deer permits, which may be purchased only after an antlered deer permit has been purchased, cost $10.

There is no minimum age to apply for and receive a big game permit. All youth must be supervised by an adult 18 or older during the youth/disabled deer season. The adult may not hunt. For more information, visit the KDWP website, www.kdwp.state.ks.us or phone 620-672-5911.
-30-