KDWPT / KDWPT Info / News / News Archive / 2007 Weekly News Archive / 9/20/07 / YOUTH/DISABLED DEER SEASON SEPT. 29-30



YOUTH/DISABLED DEER SEASON SEPT. 29-30

Whitetail either sex permits available over the counter
PRATT -- The Kansas youth/disabled deer season runs Sept. 29-30 this year and offers youngsters and the disabled a low-pressure hunting environment designed to provide the highest opportunity for success. Hunters 16 and younger and those with disability permits are eligible. No special permit is required, but a deer permit is required, and those 16 and older must have a Kansas hunting license, unless exempt by law. Nonresident hunters younger than 16 must also have a junior nonresident hunting license, $37.15.

Resident hunters who have yet to obtain a Whitetail Either Sex permit may still obtain one at Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks (KDWP) offices, select license vendors, or online at www.kdwp.state.ks.us. Click "License/Permit Sales" on the top menu bar.

Resident hunting licenses, required of anyone age 16 through 64, cost $20.15. Resident Whitetail Either Sex Deer permits cost $32.15. Whitetail Antlerless Only Deer game tags, which may be purchased only after an antlered deer permit has been purchased, cost $12.15 for residents and $22.15 for nonresidents.

There is no minimum age to apply for and receive a big game permit. All youth must be supervised by an adult 18 or older during the youth/disabled deer season. For more information, visit the KDWP website, www.kdwp.state.ks.us or phone 620-672-5911.

The youth/disabled season coincides with the High Plains Zone youth waterfowl season. Hunters 15 and younger may also hunt duck in this zone -- west of Highway 283 -- under the supervision of an adult 21 or older. The adult may not hunt but must possess all licenses and stamps required to hunt waterfowl.
-30-