KDWPT / KDWPT Info / News / News Archive / 2006 Web News / June 2006 / KANSAS ARMY AMMUNITION PLANT ANNOUNCES HUNTING SEASONS



KANSAS ARMY AMMUNITION PLANT ANNOUNCES HUNTING SEASONS

Archery and muzzleloader deer, quail hunts offered

PARSONS -- The Kansas Army Ammunition Plant has announced season dates and application deadlines for limited hunts on the 13,727-acre area near Parsons. All hunters must be at least 16 years old and have successfully completed a hunter education course. Hunts may be cancelled at any time due to security concerns.

Applicants are encouraged to apply in pairs and must send their hunt preference, full name, drivers license number, social security number, birth date, address, and phone number on a postcard or 3x5 index card to Commander’s Representative, KSAAP, ATTN: SJMKS-NR, 23018 Rooks Road, Parsons, KS 67357. The information provided will be used to conduct a mandatory background check for successfully drawn applicants. Incomplete or incorrect entries will not be accepted. Only successful applicants will be notified by mail. A recorded version of the hunt application requirements can be reached by calling 620-421-7429.

Archery deer, 25 hunters -- Oct. 3- Nov. 30
Successful applicants must pay a $50 federal access fee, in addition to all permits and licenses required by the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks (KDWP). All hunters are required to attend a mandatory pre-hunt safety/security briefing at 6 p.m. on Oct. 2.

Archery hunters must use a recurve, longbow, or compound bow. Crossbows are not allowed. In addition, hunters must harvest two adult does prior to harvesting a buck. Whitetail Antlerless Only Deer game tags are allowed.

The application deadline for the archery deer hunt drawing is August 18. To allow increased hunter opportunity, successful applicants will not be allowed to apply for the same hunt in successive years.

Muzzleloader deer, 20 hunters -- Dec. 2-4

Successful applicants must pay a $20 federal access fee. All hunters are required to attend a mandatory pre-hunt safety/security briefing at 6 p.m. on Nov. 30.

Muzzleloader hunters may use any legal muzzleloader. No shotguns or rifles are allowed. Hunters may harvest two adult does or one fawn but are encouraged to harvest only adult does.

The deadline for muzzleloader hunt applications is Oct. 20.

Quail, 10 groups (total maximum of 40 hunters) -- Dec. 15-16

All hunters are required to attend the mandatory pre-hunt safety/security briefing at 6 p.m. on Dec. 14. Successful applicants must pay a $20 federal access fee.

Quail hunters may use dogs. Hunters may harvest the state bag limit on quail.

The deadline for quail hunt applications is Oct. 20.

-30-