KDWPT / Hunting / Hunting Regulations / Turkey / Requirements & Eligibility



Requirements & Eligibility

REQUIREMENTS & ELIGIBILITY

All individuals regardless of land ownership and age, must have in possession a valid permit to hunt spring turkey. In addition to the permit, a valid Kansas hunting license is required (unless exempt by Kansas law).

Members of the armed services on active duty who were Kansas residents at the time of entering the service are considered to be residents. Immediate family members domiciled with an active member of the military who was a Kansas resident at the time of entering the military, may apply for department licenses and permits as residents. Members of the armed services on active duty and officially stationed in Kansas may purchase resident licenses and permits, except for lifetime licenses.

A nonresident who is a registered full-time student in residence at a public or private secondary, post secondary, or vocational school located in this state may purchase resident licenses and permits, except lifetime licenses. Students must carry evidence of being full-time students while hunting.

Any holder of a Kansas lifetime license (hunt or combination hunt and fish) who has moved from the state may apply for a spring turkey permit as a resident.

Only one application per person may be submitted. Permits and game tags obtained through false representation, misrepresentation, or in excess of the number authorized shall be invalid.

Hunters may hunt only within the management unit printed on his or her permit. Any individual who has purchased a Spring Turkey Permit is eligible for a Second Turkey Game Tag. Individuals who possess a Spring Turkey Permit and a Turkey Game Tag may harvest both turkeys the same day.

HUNTER EDUCATION & AGE REQUIREMENTS

Anyone born on or after July 1, 1957 must be certified by an approved course in hunter education before they can hunt in Kansas EXCEPT that anyone 15 years old and younger may hunt without hunter education certification provided that they are under the direct supervision of an adult 18 years old or older (21 for the youth turkey season). Immediate supervision means direct and immediate audible and visual control. Hunters must carry a certificate verifying course completion while hunting until age 27. Only persons hunting on their own land are exempt from this requirement.

Hunters 12 and older may hunt by themselves provided they possess a valid hunter education certification and a valid turkey permit.