KDWPT / KDWPT Info / News / News Archive / 2013 Weekly News / 7-11-13 / HUNTER EDUCATION CLASSES BEING OFFERED NOW

Left menu

KDWPT Info Menu



HUNTER EDUCATION CLASSES BEING OFFERED NOW

HUNTER EDUCATION CLASSES BEING OFFERED NOW

July 10, 2013

Kansas Hunter Education courses teach new hunters how to be ethical, safe and knowledgeable, free of charge

PRATT­– The Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism is currently offering Hunter Education classes throughout the state, providing a variety of class times, formats, and locations to meet nearly any schedule. Kansas law currently states that anyone born on or after July 1, 1957 must be certified by an approved course in hunter education before they can hunt in Kansas, except that anyone 15 years old and under may hunt without hunter education certification provided that they are under the direct supervision of an adult 18 years old or older. Students must be 11 years old to be certified.

In an effort to provide greater accessibility to students, Kansas Hunter Education courses are given in one of two formats: traditional or internet-assisted. Traditional hunter education courses are 10 hours long, typically in a classroom setting, and are usually held over the course of two to three days. Internet-assisted courses are designed to meet the needs of individuals with conflicting schedules by providing online classwork that can be done at home. After the internet work is completed, students must attend a field day, which often includes live-fire, trail-walk and safe gun handing exercises before final testing and certification. Students must register for an internet-assisted course before completing the internet portion.

Subjects covered include hunter responsibility, ethics, fair chase, history of firearms, firearms basics, ammunition, basic gun safety, field safety, bowhunting, conservation and wildlife management, wildlife of Kansas, outdoor emergencies, Kansas hunting regulations and boating safety for hunters.

Students should pre-register because space is limited and classes fill up quickly. New classes are scheduled weekly, so visit ksoutdoors.com and click “Services,” “Education,” and then “Hunter,” for more information and up-to-date schedules.

Hunter Education Classes Currently Being Offered (by region)

Region 1 Hunter Ed Classes

Region 2 Hunter Ed Classes

Region 3 Hunter Ed Classes

Region 4 Hunter Ed Classes

Region 5 Hunter Ed Classes

-30-