KDWPT / KDWPT Info / News / News Archive / 2008 Web News / November 2008 / BLUEBIRDS TO WOODPECKERS: CHRISTMAS COUNTS SET



BLUEBIRDS TO WOODPECKERS: CHRISTMAS COUNTS SET

bluebirdleft

Christmas bird counts held across Kansas; open to bird enthusiasts from novice to expert

The Kansas Ornithological Society has announced dates for its 2008 Kansas Christmas Bird Counts (CBCs). These statewide events help biologists glean information on bird population trends and give wildlife enthusiasts a chance to search for their favorite birds.

The event is co-sponsored by the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks and Audubon of Kansas. Currently-scheduled event locations and contacts are listed below. For additional information regarding these counts and others that have yet to be listed, contact Chuck Otte at otte@nqks.com or go online. Some of these events may require a small fee to participate. Scheduled events and contacts include the following:

December 13

Yoder -- Mary Clark, mclark@hutchrec.com, 620-663-7411.

December 14

Doniphan -- Mike Stewart, ab0vm@kc.rr.com, 913-651-2565;

Oskaloosa/Perry Reservoir -- Bunnie Watkins, Bunnie.A.Watkins@usace.army.mil, 785-597-5144;

Wilson Reservoir -- Mike Rader, mike_rader@hotmail.com, 785-658-2595; and

Winfield/Udall -- Max Thompson, maxt@cox.net, 620-229-6304.

December 15

Quivira National Wildlife Refuge -- Mike Rader, mike_rader@hotmail.com, 785-658-2595.

December 17

Sawyer -- Ken Brunson, kenb@wp.state.ks.us, 620-672-0792; and

Slate Creek -- Gene Young, youngg6264@yahoo.com, 620-442-4165.

December 20

El Dorado -- Bill Langley, blangley@butlercc.edu, 316-889-5434;

Halstead/Newton -- Dwight Platt, platword@southwind.net, 785-283-6708;

Hays -- Greg Farley, gfarley@fhsu.edu, 785-628-5965;

Kirwin -- Craig Mowry, 785-543-6673;

Lawrence -- Galen Pittman, gpittman@ku.edu, 785-842-7105;

Manhattan -- Dave Rintoul, drintoul@ksu.edu, 785-532-6615;

Olathe -- Don Weiss, don.weiss@comcast.net, 913-634-0135;

Parsons -- Rick Tucker, rickt@terraworld.net, 620-421-4913;

Salina -- Harold Lear, hvlear@yahoo.com, 785-825-7889;

Topeka -- Jim Malcom, jmalcom4@prodigy.net, 785-256-2841; and

Wichita -- Kevin Groeneweg, kgroeneweg@sbcglobal.net, 346-687-4268.

December 21

Arkansas City -- Gene Young, youngg6264@yahoo.com, 620-442-4165;

Bonner Springs/Lansing -- Galen Pittman, gpittman@ku.edu, 785-842-7105;

Scott Lake -- Sara Shane, tom.shane@sbcglobal.net, 620-275-4616; and

Wakefield -- Chuck Otte, otte2@cox.net, 785-238-8800.

December 22

Camp Naish -- Stan Roth, sdroth@ku.edu, 785-843-4764 or 785-691-6381; and

Olsburg -- Gary Jeffrey, gjeffrey@twinvalley.net, 785-468-3587.

December 27

Cimarron National Grasslands -- Sebastian Patti, Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com, 773-248-0570; and

Leavenworth/Atchison -- John Schukman, schuksaya@kc.rr.com, 912-727-5141.

December 28

Junction City -- Chuck Otte, otte2@cox.net, 785-238-8800; and

Kenton/Black Mesa, OK -- Sebastian Patti, Sebastianpatti@hotmail.com, 773-248-0570.

January 1

Mined Land Wildlife Area -- Steve Ford, sford@pittstate.edu, 620-235-4745 or 620-632-4280; and

Ulysses -- Kellye Hart, pubah73@yahoo.com.

January 2

Ingalls/Cimarron -- Dan LaShelle, tom.shane@sbcglobal.net, 620-275-4616.

January 3

Garden City -- Marie Osterbuhr, mosterbuhr@yahoo.com, 620-276-8145; and

Red Hills -- Pete Janzen, pete.janzen@sbcglobal.net, 316-832-0182.

January 4

Lakin -- Dan LaShelle, tom.shane@sbcglobal.net, 620-275-4616.

January 5

Old Garfield County -- Dan LaShelle, tom.shane@sbcglobal.net, 620-275-4616.

January 10

Syracuse -- Art Nonhof, art.nonhof@GCCCKS.EDU.

January 17

Blackwolf -- Mike Rader, mike_rader@hotmail.com, 785-658-2595.

January 18

Kanopolis -- Mike Rader, mike_rader@hotmail.com, 785-658-2595.

-30-