KANSAS FIREARMS DEER SEASON OPENS NOVEMBER 28
Hunters gear up for traditional opening day
PRATT -- The 2007 Kansas firearms deer season runs Wednesday, Nov. 28, through Sunday, Dec. 9, and hunters are sighting in their rifles and practicing their shooting skills in anticipation of one of the state's favorite hunting seasons. Deer are plentiful, and a good season is expected.
The first Kansas deer season in modern times was held in 1965, and less than half of the state was open. Biologists estimated state deer numbers at a few more than 30,000 animals. Thirty-nine hundred permits were issued, and firearms hunters took approximately 1,340 deer.
In 2006, KDWP issued more than 85,000 Whitetail Either Sex permits to residents and nonresidents. Kansas firearms deer hunters enjoy a phenomenal success rate of more than 50 percent, and when the number of deer harvested by archers and firearms hunters is added to the deer taken with Whitetail Antlerless Only permits and game tags, this year's total harvest could be more than 80,000 deer.
All deer hunters must have a deer permit to hunt deer in Kansas. Resident hunters 16 to 65 years old must also possess a hunting license, unless exempt by law. Nonresident hunters must possess a nonresident deer permit, which is drawn from a limited pool in June, and a nonresident hunting license. Hunters must purchase a permit that allows the harvest of an antlered deer before they can purchase a Whitetail Antlerless Only permit or game tag, until after Dec. 30.
Resident whitetail deer permits are available online or at license vendors throughout the state. Hunters are reminded that landowner permission is required to hunt any private land, whether that land is posted or not.