KDWPT / KDWPT Info / News / News Archive / 2007 Web News / September 2007 / 2007 YOUTH/DISABLED DEER SEASON SCHEDULED SEPTEMBER 29-30



2007 YOUTH/DISABLED DEER SEASON SCHEDULED SEPTEMBER 29-30

Youth waterfowl season in High Plains Zone also on tap

The Kansas youth/disabled deer season runs Sept. 29-30 this year and offers youngsters and disabled persons a low-pressure hunting environment designed to provide the highest opportunity for success. Hunters 16 and younger and those with disability permits are eligible. No special permit is required, but a deer permit is required, and those 16 and older must have a Kansas hunting license, unless exempt by law. Nonresident hunters younger than 16 must also have a junior nonresident hunting license, $37.15.

Resident hunters who have not obtained a Whitetail Either-Sex deer permit may obtain one at KDWP offices, license vendors, or online.
Resident hunting licenses, required of hunters age 16 through 64, cost $20.15. Resident Whitetail Either-Sex deer permits cost $32.15. Whitetail Antlerless-Only deer game tags, which may be purchased only after an antlered deer permit has been purchased, cost $12.15 for residents and $22.15 for nonresidents.

There is no minimum age to apply for and receive a big game permit. All youth must be supervised by an adult 18 or older during the youth/disabled deer season.

Young hunters also have an opportunity to hunt waterfowl in the High Plains Zone (west of U.S. 283) on Sept. 29 and 30. Hunters 15 and younger may hunt ducks and geese in that area of the state, if under supervision of an adult 21 or older. The adult may not hunt but must possess all licenses and stamps required to hunt waterfowl.

-30-