KDWPT / KDWPT Info / News / News Archive / 2005 Weekly News Archive / 10/27/05 / GUIDE REGULATIONS, BOAT FEES TOP COMMISSION ACTION



GUIDE REGULATIONS, BOAT FEES TOP COMMISSION ACTION

Kansas Wildlife and Parks Commission approves changes at Oct. 21 hearing

PRATT -- The Kansas Wildlife and Parks Commission has revoked all regulations governing commercial guides, effective Jan. 1, 2006. The action removes all fees, certification, and reporting requirements formerly required for commercial guides in the state. The action was taken at the commission’s Oct. 21 public hearing in Kinsley, in response to a law (House Bill 2466) passed by the 2005 Kansas Legislature repealing all statutory provisions for commercial guide services.

In other action at the meeting, the commission revised boat registration fees to $30 for a three-year registration for all motor- or sail-propelled boats. The new fee will take effect Jan. 1, 2006. Previous registration fees were $20 for boats under 16 feet long, and $25 for boats 16 feet or longer. The new fee applies to all boats, regardless of length.

The commission also approved the addition of Garnett Crystal Lake to the state’s list of designated trout fishing waters and added two shot types (tungsten-tin-iron and tungsten-iron-copper-nickel) to the list of legal types for hunting migratory birds in Kansas.
-30-