Kansas State Parks Passport FAQs
When can I buy a Kansas State Parks Passport?
The Kansas State Parks Passport will be available only during your Kansas motor vehicle registration process (new or renewal).
Where can I get the Kansas State Parks Passport?
The Kansas State Parks Passport will be available at a motor vehicle registration office, through the online vehicle registration site (www.kswebtags.org), or when renewing by mail.
How much will the Kansas State Parks Passport cost?
The Kansas State Parks Passport will cost $15.50. This is $9.50 less than the price you’ll pay if you buy an annual park vehicle permit through a KDWPT office, Kansas license vendor or through the KDWPT website.
Can the Kansas State Parks Passport be used at all the state parks?
The Kansas State Parks Passport will allow entry to all of the state parks except for Prairie Spirit Rail Trail State Park, which requires a separate permit.
Can I transfer the Kansas State Parks Passport to another vehicle?
No, they are non-transferable under the law. Each sticker must be permanently attached to one of the vehicles a person is registering, and a sticker cannot be moved to another vehicle. A person may purchase fewer Parks Passports than the number of vehicles they are registering and no more than the number of vehicles they are registering. Parks Passports may not be given to others to affix to their vehicles.
When does the Kansas State Parks Passport expire?
It will expire the same day your vehicle registration expires.
My vehicle is registered out of state. Can I get the Kansas State Parks Passport for it?
No. Owners of vehicles not registered in Kansas should buy their park vehicle permits at a KDWPT office or vendor and pay the regular price for annual or daily permits. The regular annual park vehicle permit will cost $25.00, and the daily vehicle permit fee will be $5.00, including processing fees.
I’m 65 years old or older (or) I have a disability. Can I get a reduced price on the Kansas State Parks Passport?
No, discount senior and disability permits are not available under the Kansas State Parks Passport program. Residents 65 years of age or older or persons with disabilities who display a special license plate or placard issued pursuant to state law can buy a special park vehicle permit directly from a KDWPT office or vendor. Including processing fees, the cost will be $13.75 for annual vehicle park permits or $3.25 for regular daily permits. Or, you can purchase the Kansas State Parks Passport at the regular rate during the vehicle registration process.
What if I buy a Kansas State Parks Passport, then sell that vehicle and buy another before the Passport expires?
You will need to purchase another Kansas State Parks Passport when you register your new vehicle.
What if I have to replace my windshield?
You can buy a duplicate park permit from a State Park office for $12.50, and affix it to the windshield.
Why was the new Kansas State Parks Passport created?
The Kansas State Parks Passport will make it more convenient and affordable for Kansans to enjoy our 25 state parks. It will be a great way for families to reconnect with nature and each other, and help preserve the parks for future generations. Families can enjoy a whole year of adventure and outdoor activities for less than the cost of treating the family to a night at the movies. KDWPT also is striving to be less reliant on state general funds, and the new annual permit will help provide more reliable, consistent revenue.