Protecting our hunting heritage through safe, knowledgeable and responsible hunters.
Locations to purchase a duplicate Hunter Education Certificate over the counter.
As amended and effective January 1, 2005 Kansas law provides:
Anyone born on or after July 1, 1957 must be certified by an approved course in hunter education before they can hunt in Kansas EXCEPT that anyone 15 years old and under may hunt without hunter education certification PROVIDED that they are under the direct supervision of an adult 18 years old or older.
Effective July 1, 2014 individuals 16 or older may purchase a two-time purchase deferral of the Hunter Education requirements by purchasing an Apprentice hunting license. Holders of Apprentice hunting licenses must hunt under the supervision of a licensed hunter age 18 or older.
Hunter Education Certification issued by any state, Canadian Province, or some foreign jurisdictions are deemed to meet the requirements of Kansas Law.
NOTE: Hunting on some Federal properties requires a valid Hunter Education certification regardless of age. This requirement takes precedence over Kansas law.
No one under the age of 11 will be certified in hunter education. Those under age 11 may take the course on a Space Available basis. Anyone taking the Hunter Education courses prior to age 11, will be required to take the course again for certification after turning 11.
No one under age 12 may hunt by themselves regardless of Hunter Education certification status. All hunters under age 12 MUST hunt under the direct supervision of an adult age 18 or older.
Those under age 12 may not hunt with others under age 12 unless the group is under the direct supervision of an adult age 18 or older.
Those hunters age 12 and over may hunt by themselves PROVIDED that they possess a valid hunter education certification.
Hunters turning age 16 MUST have completed a hunter education course before they may purchase their first hunting license.
All hunters age 16 to age 27, and all hunters age 12 to age 16 hunting alone, MUST carry proof of hunter education while hunting.
Courses are offered in two different formats: traditional classroom or internet-assisted.
A limited number of Hunter Education "Crash" Courses are available to NON-RESIDENTS ONLY.