MARCH 31 LAST DAY FOR PARK AND TURKEY COMBO BARGAINS
March 22, 2012
Park users and hunters can save by purchasing permits before April 1
PRATT — Visitors to Kansas state parks can save money by purchasing many permits before the prime park season begins on April 1. Permits purchased in the off-season — Oct. 1-March 31 — are valid for the remainder of the calendar year, and they are cheaper if purchased during this period. And hunters looking for a bargain can find it in the turkey permit/game tag combination, available through March 31 at a reduced price. By purchasing the combination early, hunters save $7.50 over the cost of purchasing each separately after March 30.
For 2012, state park vehicle entrance permit fees include the following:
Off-Season (through March 31)
- Annual camping permit — $202.50
- 14-night camping permit —$87.50
- Annual vehicle permit — $19.70 (senior/disabled: $11.10
Prime Season (April 1-Sept. 30)
- Annual camping permit — $252.50
- 14-night camping permit —$101.50
- Annual vehicle permit — $24.70 (senior/disabled: $13.60)
- Resident Turkey permit — $22.50
- Resident Turkey game tag — $12.50
- Resident Turkey Combo permit/game tag — $27.50
Costs listed include applicable service fees, except online purchase convenience fee. Annual permits are valid for the remainder of the calendar year whether purchased in the off-season or the prime season.
The Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism’s Parks Division operates a system of 26 parks, including the Prairie Spirit Rail-Trail. Most state parks provide utility and primitive camping, as well as cabins, and are located adjacent to lakes or reservoirs. Most camping and utility fees remain unchanged year-round, but daily, 14-day, and annual camping permits, as well as annual vehicle permits, are cheaper if purchased in the off-season. In addition to camping facilities, parks offer boat ramps, courtesy docks, shelter houses, swimming beaches, trails, and a variety of other amenities. Parks also host numerous special events, such as concerts and festivals, throughout the year.
Turkey season for youth and disabled runs April 1-10, and the general season runs April 11-May 31. Each permit or game tag is valid for one turkey. A hunting license is also required, unless exempt by law.